Superbowl Sunday is almost here. I’m excited to watch a matchup that I saw from the start of the season (no, really). My team was eliminated before the post season even started (yes, it was embarrassing), so I’ve yet to decide who to root for. Probably whoever is down at the half. In spite of my team being out of the running, I always look forward to the Superbowl for all of the delicious food I get to consume. This year, I’m planning on serving lamb ribs. These are seriously finger licking good. After reading a great new cookbook, The Steamy Kitchen (check it out for some fantastic Asian recipes), I purchased an enormous bottle of sweet chili sauce (it was the only size available and it cost $3.50) to make a Vietnamese dipping sauce. When I saw that CK’s rib recipe involved said sweet chili sauce, I knew I had to make it. The recipe is so simple and fantastic.

  • 2 packages Lava Lake Lamb Ribs
  • Chinese Five Spice seasoning
  • 1 cup hoisin
  • 1 cup sweet chili sauce
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • cilantro (chopped)
  • sesame seeds

Hoisin & Sweet Chili Sauce

First season the ribs with Chinese 5 spice (or 10 spice if you’ve got it) seasoning.

Steam the ribs for 2 hours. I used a double boiler, but use a bamboo steamer if you’ve got one. I flipped the ribs after an hour.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Mix together hoisin, sweet chili sauce and garlic, and spread all over ribs.

pre-oven

Cook ribs for 20-30 minutes. Top with cilantro and sesame seeds and serve.

post-oven

