Here’s another staff favorite, this week from Tess O’Sullivan. Tess oversees our ambitious science and conservation program, which includes wildlife and habitat surveys, conservation projects, and the implementation of restoration and land stewardship activities. She works closely with contracting scientists, agency officials, our ranch staff, and conservation partners. She and her two adopted ranch dogs, Buddy Boy and Osso, love joining her on field work expeditions. Whether it’s a day of planting willows or hiking up steep shadeless sagebrush slopes to assess grazing use, they are always up for a ranch outing. She is hopeful that 7 month old son Duncan becomes a big fan of riding in a backpack.

The lamb curry is my favorite recipe, using shoulder. I love coming in from an outing on a cold day and serving up a big bowl of this hearty meal. If I can get organized enough, I prefer to make the recipe a day in advance because I think it tastes even better the next day. I often make this curry without all of the ingredients on hand and it still turns out well with a few substitutions and omissions. I rarely cook with beef stock, so will typically make the curry with chicken or veg stock. The marmelade, mango chutney, coconut, and golden raisins definitely add to the recipe, but I won’t make a separate trip to the store, just to track these items down.

-Tess

Share

