Here’s a new series on our blog, profiling chefs who use Lava Lake Lamb. First up, Don Shepler of  Galena Lodge, one of our favorite places to eat and ski in the valley!

When did you first know you wanted to become a chef?

I started washing dishes, then cooking, and got a job at a little inn where we had access to get fresh product and trout. I didn’t know what to do with it at the time, but it started to click.

How long have you been in the business?

16 years.

What is your favorite food?

I’m very in the moment about what I like to eat, but my wife has become a Lamb-a-tarian.  (She was a vegetarian until I made her a lamb burger.)

What’s the most challenging food for you to prepare?

I really enjoy dealing with leftovers, but it can be challenging.

What do you like most about cooking?

The pace of restaurants is fun for me, and the wide (or sometimes narrow) variety of ingredients that we can work with means there is always something to learn or create.

What do you like least about cooking?

Eating standing up! And being creative at work sort of drains my creativity for other things.

What do you do in your spare time?

Lots of outdoor activities and reading.

What would people be surprised to learn about you?

See the photo…

photo by Bryan Moody

Share

