Last year I made a concerted effort to eat more quinoa after learning about its health properties. I also discovered how delicious it was after consuming the grain in nearly all of my meals in Peru. However, in my first few attempts at preparing the grain, I realized that Peruvians must know some trick, because my dishes were boring and tasteless.

One day, I decided to add some of my favorite Greek flavors to quinoa; I tossed together spinach, roasted red peppers, feta, and balsamic vinegar with the grain and suddenly couldn’t stop eating the superfood. The salty feta combined with the sweet depth of charred red peppers complimented the texture of each nutty bite of quinoa. More recently, looking for a quick dinner, I threw the same ingredients together along with some lamb chorizo sausage. Guess what? Sausage makes everything better.

Ingredients

  • 1 red pepper
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1 package of Lava Lake Lamb chorizo sausages
  • 1 bunch spinach
  • 1/4 cup feta

Place the red pepper under the broiler. Rotate it occasionally until it is blackened. Remove from oven and place in  a bowl covered with plastic wrap. Let steam for about ten minutes, or until cool enough to handle. Remove the charred skin and seeds. Slice into strips and place in  a bowl with 1 tablespoon of olive oil, 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar and a pinch of salt.

Cook quinoa according to instructions on the package. In my case, I combined 2 cups of water with the 1 cup of quinoa, brought the water to a boil and reduced the heat to a simmer with the lid on. I cooked the grain for about 15 minutes.

While quinoa is cooking, heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Remove chorizo from casing and brown in the pan, using a wooden spoon to break up the sausage. Reduce the heat to medium. Add spinach to pan and wilt. In a serving bowl, combine sausage, spinach, roasted red peppers and feta with another tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. Taste, and add more olive oil, balsamic vinegar or salt to taste.

